Tuesday Support AKA I Hate Blackberries

Hello there,

I live in a world of precise timings/calculations and maximised efficiency; I know, for example, that if I shower in the morning instead of the evening before bed I am required to be up by 7:50 at the latest, and should the day be what I call a dry shampoo day I can quite happily wake up at 8:00. In all scenarios if I leave after 8:17 I’m boned when it comes to getting to work on time…

However unrelated it may seem, the above is why I HATE blackberries… I don’t recall a time when they ever truly worked for an extended period of time. The company I work for support these phones on a “best endeavours” basis for our larger (and consequently valuable) customers, and I must get more calls about these things than anything else.

The most infuriating aspect of this is not that it occasionally disconnects, Microsoft Outlook plays that shit on me all the time and it just summons an innocently playful “Oh You!” and you can use the whole Microsoft stigma over the phone to instigate a laugh with the client with no additional damages to the reputation of the company (You know the one, where all Microsoft Software is to be taken as standard to be non-functional to the point where if it works the customer actually feels lucky and oddly more productive). In either case my point is when Outlook disconnects I can get it hooked back up in 10 minutes and the customer feels like we’ve given them a professional and fast service. Thank you Microsoft, your constantly malfunctioning yet easy to fix software makes me look great!

Now RIM on the other hand (curious abbreviation), have developed a system designed not only to infuriate their users but it infuriates us and in the process makes us look like cowboys. So imagine, your blackberry accidentally loses it’s “enterprise” connection to the server for no apparent reason and you stop receiving your email and all of the shit on their page about deleting CMIME books and other random anti-solutional bollocks, doesn’t work; your next logical step would be to reactivate the blackberry… But alas the option has disappeared!?

So in this fresh hell RIM have created I have to tell the user they need to backup their device and wipe it JUST to re-activate their enterprise connection, only to have it lose connection a few months down the line.

RIM IF YOU READ THIS, I AM COMING FOR YOU! THERE WILL BE BLOOD! MY YOUTHS ON THE STREETS OBVIOUSLY AGREE:

Image

Leave a comment